Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

I’ll be participating in the Dewey’s 24 Hr Readathon today, officially beginning at 8a my time and running for 24 hours. I don’t pretend I’m young enough to pull an all-nighter, but I’m thinking that this is a delightful treat after two weeks of overextending myself, and gives me the perfect excuse to do what I want (i.e. read with my feet up) ALL DAY LONG.

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?  from my cozy living room in Oakwood, Ohio
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? I’ve chosen two to begin with: one fiction and one nonfiction (see below for details)
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? I’ve been so overextended the last two weeks that I gave zero thought to this part.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! Lifelong bookworm, living with lupus for 28 years now, was a CPA in a former life, now have 4.9 grandsons under the age of four.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I did participate once before and recruited friends to join me, but set expectations too high so this time I will simply be doing this for fun! And one of my friends will be joining me again.  🙂

I plan to read for at least 45 minutes out of each hour and use the other minutes to wiggle my toes, check in on the readathon and make a few posts here. I’m not going to set goals for how many books or pages I’ll read, but I am going to start off with two books I’ve been eager to read again.

I first read The Time Traveler’s Wifeback in 2005 and absolutely fell in love with the characters. Because the author resisted letting the book be published digitally (and particularly to kindle) for so long, I haven’t been able to read it since switching entirely to reading on my kindle. (So much easier on painful hands, etc.) A dear friend gifted me the book yesterday, and I can’t wait to dive in.

The nonfiction book I’ll be reaching for is Paul Theroux’s account of walking around England: The Kingdom by the Sea: A Journey Around the Coast of Great Britain. This kind of travel diary is just my “cup of tea”. With these two books I should have a lot of fun ahead of me in this day of reading.

I plan to post my updates here on this post. Happy reading, all!

Hour 1: read 7% of The Time Traveler’s Wife (plus the beginning material including a new introduction by the author, which didn’t count toward my percentage read. At 416 pages that means I read only around 40 real pages in my 40-ish minutes of reading. Not very speedy.) To clear my head I got up and rescued the bread dough I’d made on Thursday and forgotten to bake yesterday. Oops! It’s now in the pans for a final rise and the oven is warming up. That means that during hour 3 I will smell fresh bread and get to feast on that through the day! Now it’s on to my nonfiction book for the next hour…

Hour 2: 12% into The Kingdom by the Sea, enjoying the hike. Bread dough isn’t rising very well; apparently 48 hours is too long to leave it, haha. I’ll give it another half hour then bake it and hope for the best.

Hours 3 – 4: It’s now hard to switch back and forth because when the timer hits I want to keep going in the book that I am. i”m also starting to lose a little bit of focus. (The bread turned out quite well and I’ve been using the few minute breaks per hour to fuss around the kitchen and get lunch started. So far that hasn’t cut into my reading time though obviously it got me behind here.)

I’m currently at 18% in Time Travelers Wife and 22% in my trip around the coast of Britain. Enjoying both very much!

Hours 5-6 I kept up my alternating pattern. Hour 7 I needed a nap. Since hour 8 it all blurs together and I’m not paying attention to breaks or anything. My eyes hurt, but mostly that lack of attention means I’ve stopped switching back and forth. I’ve read some in each book but now I’m stuck in Time Travelers Wife, and enjoying it. Perhaps I’ll switch again after the next time I get up and move around.

Currently at 42% in this one and 40% in my walk around Britain.===========

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now? I’m still alternating between The Time Traveler’s Wife (kindle says I have 3 hrs and 28 mins to finish the book) and The Kingdom By the Sea (2 hrs 25 mins left) and debating whether to push hard to finish one or the other of them or whether to continue going back and forth. Both are excellent.
2. How many books have you read so far? I began both the above books this morning and haven’t finished a complete book to this point.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Can’t decide. If I finish one, I’ll try and finish the other afterward.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Mostly for painful eyes or feeling sleepy. Twice I went for a brisk walk around the block, once down to Starbucks.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? That it feels like something I should try far more often

The Time Traveler’s Wife 51%, The Kingdom by the Sea 43%

Well, at midnight my time, with eight hours still to go, I’m finally resorting to audiobooks… Listening to “A Little Life” by Hanya Yanigihara. Loving it so far but really wishing y eyes would jump up and say “we’re good for another eight concentrated hours!”

=========

Must take another nap, though this might last more than one hour. I will be lying still and listening to A Little Life. Looks like I might finish this readathon with about 800 pages. Not “good enough” but may be the best I can do.

========

I was up again in time to go on with hour 20 of this readathon and have focused solely on The Time Traveler’s Wife because I could see I had time to finish it and it’s racing toward the conclusion. I haven’t taken the time to move around or post updates, but I’ve been reading and as of now my lovely kindle Voyage is saying I have 55 minutes of reading yet to go. What will I do when I’m done? Probably go crawl back into bed for an hour or two, and then I’ll want to finish up my other book.

I’ll come back and post a final update in an hour or so.=========

Which hour was most daunting for you? 11p which was hour 16 for me
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I can’t recommend The Time Traveler’s Wife highly enough. What a wonderful, satisfying read.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Encourage us to round  up some real life friends ahead of time and read in each other’s presence. I saw some people posting about doing just that and I think it would have helped me.
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? This was the first time I’ve had cheerleaders show up and post to encourage me (it was a real disappointment last time when none did) and that was wonderful!
How many books did you read? One from start to finish, another start to more than half done, and part of an audiobook to which I was already listening.
What were the names of the books you read? The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Kingdom by the Sea: A Journey Around the Coast of Great Britain and A Little Life.

Which book did you enjoy most? The Time Traveler’s Wife
Which did you enjoy least? all are fantastic
If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Remember how much help you are to someone who’s trying to keep going. Go back and answer any comments your readers have made. My cheerleaders were awesome!
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?  100% likely to participate again, and I will plan as well as I can for reading but will also reach out and encourage others.

Finally tally: >716 pages (that many on kindle plus another couple of hours via audiobook). I didn’t read nearly as quickly as I used to and I’m not sure if that’s my new normal or if I spent too much time doing other things.

10 Comments on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon”

  1. glitterfem says:

    So glad you’re joining us today! Readathon is an EXCELLENT excuse for doing what you want all day, but sounds like you’ve earned that right 😊 Enjoy!

  2. amymckie says:

    Your books sound really great! I also really enjoyed The Time Traveler’s Wife, and The Kingdom of the Sea sounds very good – I am going to have to check back to see your thoughts! Also… I have to ask… how does one have 4.9 grandchildren?? Happy readathon!

    • dsmallc says:

      well, the 0.9 boy hasn’t quite popped out yet 😀

      I must say, though, that the odds are he’s going to be adorable, as his brothers and cousins indicate…

      And I’m loving the books, though it’s hard to leave one for the other. I’m wondering if sometime later today I’ll just give in to the urge to stay with one. But for now, I’m enjoying Henry and Clare, AND I’m wanting to go walking around England.

  3. amymckie says:

    Sorry to hear the bread isn’t working out so well – Does it still smell heavenly, though? That sounds fantastic! I hope you are enjoying your reading!

  4. Rachael says:

    I love love love The Time Traveler’s Wife, one of my favorite books I have ever read. You will have to check out the movie after you are done if you haven’t already. You are doing great! #teamdogwood

  5. amymckie says:

    I’m impressed that you are still managing to switch back and forth between your books, it must mean they are both really great! I hope you are still enjoying your readathon!

  6. dsmallc says:

    Oh how I’m lagging now…


Leave a Reply

