Books-on-the-Nightstand Summer Bingo

I’m very late posting this, but once again I am participating in the challenge hosted at Books on the Nightstand, for their Summer Bingo Challenge which runs from Memorial Day through Labor Day. Each reader generates their own card and can tweak it if so desired (I edited the list of options only so far as eliminating the genres I simply “don’t do” such as Horror and Manga. I regrettably didn’t delete Romance, but I am going to make myself find something that can qualify and not make me gag.)

The rules state that you can consider it a WIN if you complete any row, as would be true in Bingo, but I”m going to make it my personal goal to fill in all 25 squares, and perhaps even go on to fill a 2nd card.

As I write this on July 16, I have completed 16 of my 25 squares. I suppose I shall just list my categories, and fill in the books I’ve read for them…

1) Published 100 years ago (i.e. 1915)

2) An academic/campus novel:  Disgrace, by J.M. Coetzee [6/22]

3) That was turned into a TV show or movie: The Longest Day: The Classic Epic of D-Dayby  Cornelius Ryan [6/9]

4) About a disease:

5) Poetry:

6) Reread something: A Rule Against Murder: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel (A Chief Inspector Gamache Mystery Book 4)by Louise Penny fills the bill nicely [6/28]

7) That “everyone but you” has read

8) A library book: How to be bothby Monica Ali  [6/2]

9) A classic you should have read in school: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy  [5/27]

10) Set in a place you want to visit: The Rocksby Peter Nichols (set in Mallorca) [6/22]

11) With a one-word title: Outline by Rachel Cusk [5/27]

12) By a Canadian author: Still Life: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel (A Chief Inspector Gamache Mystery Book 1)by Louise Penny (the first category I filled in during my re-read of this series) [6/22]

13)  “Free Square” I’m not sure if this counts as a Joker, and we can count any book, or if it’s just a gimme. If I hear an answer to that I’ll update this accordingly. I’ve certainly read a number that I could put in here if needed.

14) Revolves around a holiday: A Fatal Grace: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel (A Chief Inspector Gamache Mystery Book 2)again by Louise Penny [6/26]

15) Recommended in a BOTNS episode: Dark Placesby Gillian Flynn [6/13]

16) With a place name in title: Howards Endby E.M. Forster [6/26]

17) Audiobook: The Paying Guestsby Sarah Waters [5/30]

18) YA novel:

19) The last published book by an author before they died:

20) Romance:

21) Re-read a favorite (yes, this is suspiciously like #6 above, but both categories were apparently in their database of suggestions): To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee [7/12]

22) Part of a series: Finders Keepersby Stephen King [6/6]

23) About books/bookstores/publishing:

24) An author debut: The Beesby Laline Paull [5/24]

25) With food as theme:

Leave a Reply

