Reading about reading

I love books about books, and The Reading Promise: My Father and the Books We Sharedhad been sitting on my TBR pile for a very long time. I have a passing acquaintance with the author’s mother, and I had held off reading this for some time due to her discomfort with some of the material included. However, in the end I couldn’t resist, as a love of books is one of the traits which most defines me, and I find it irresistible when others write about the same love.

When she was nine years old, the author, “Alice Ozma” and her father began a streak of reading aloud every single day which went on to last for thirteen years. This book isn’t so much about the books they shared as is it about the relationship between the two of them and I found it touching and genuine to see the struggles of this single father raising his daughter through the tricky pre-teen and teen years. Through it all, a shared love of books bonded them together and gave them a focus that kept them going.

The writing often seems like it’s in a young teenage voice, but the author wasn’t too many years past that when she published this memoir. Some embarrassing editing mistakes marred my enjoyment at times but overall I really enjoyed this book. 3.5 stars.

This will count toward my Read Harder Challenge as a book written by someone under the age of 25.

Leave a Reply

