Three more reads last week

i followed up my trail adventure with three more books last week, beginning with the reliably pleasant The Handsome Man’s De Luxe Caféfrom the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith. Precious Ramotswe always uses her common sense to sort out whatever challenge is put before her, and her considerable tact with both employees and clients. This is the first time in several books (for the series) that I have read rather than listened to the story. Because the author has the characters speaking slowly and repetitively, using my eyes allowed me to speed through passages that would have taken much longer if I had listened to them. That was a good choice. I am counting this one in my Read Harder challenge as a book written by an African author. McCall Smith was born in what is now called Zimbabwe. 3.5 stars.

Next I finished a classic play, A Doll’s Houseby Henrik Ibsen. I don’t know why I don’t read more plays; it works quite well on the page. I enjoyed this one all the more because Nora’s dilemma was on the leading edge of beginning awareness of women’s rights. She rebels against the completely fake role which she is expected to carry out, and by the end of this short read she has decided to figure out who she is and what she wants to do, regardless of society’s expectations. Good for her. I’m counting this on toward my Back to the Classics challenge, for which one requirement was to read a play. I enjoyed it so much I will seek out more to read in the future. 4 stars.

And finally, I finished off a real guilty pleasure, Home of the Braised by Julie Hyzy. This series of mysteries centered around the White House chef don’t rely on plausibility to hold a reader’s interest. However, I love reading about how kitchens are run, and at least some idea of how the white house meal prep is done. Ollie Paras is a likable character, whether or not I believe the story arcs concerning her.  3.5 stars.

2 Comments on “Three more reads last week”

  1. […] classic play   A Doll’s House  […]

  2. […] book by an author from Africa  The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Café by Alexander McCall Smith  […]


Leave a Reply

