Pure Comfort Food in a book

“Yet such is oft the course of deeds that move the wheels of the world: small hands do them because they must, while the eyes of the great are elsewhere.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

I no longer make a point of reading The Lord of the Ringsevery year, but I’m never too many years between visits to Middle Earth. I lost a week of college (or at least all free time that week) to my first reading of it, but it’s the subsequent times through that carry the most memories. The read-alouds with my young daughter, the time we had a map printed on a large foam board and then traced the progress of the storylines with dry erase markers, the time I had a long and detailed discussion of it with a group of online friends… So I won’t make a critique or synopsis here. Suffice it to say that this is like macaroni and cheese for the reading soul: pure comfort food. It’s not fluff and there are endless layers of depth to tease apart, but it’s familiar and beautiful and a delight every time.

I chose to read it this month because of one of the reading challenges in which I’m participating, where I commit to reading one book each month that was written by someone born during that month. JRR Tolkien was born on January 3, 1892 and the world is a better place because of it.

2 Comments on “Pure Comfort Food in a book”

  1. […] January     The Lord of the Rings, by JRR Tolkien […]

  2. […] book by a person whose gender is different from your own   The Lord of the Rings  […]


Leave a Reply

