J.R.R. Tolkien (Christian Encounters Series)

I recently bought this book when it dipped in price because I thought it would be a good way to round out my knowledge of Tolkien and add some context to the books I know so well. It doesn’t have very many pages (160) so I didn’t expect deep insights but I thought it would be a pleasant short read.

Getting through the first fifty pages I began to wonder if I could even finish the whole thing. It felt like the books that gave me the idea that I don’t enjoy history. Then it picked up and the last 100+ pages were much better. No, this won’t rank with the best books I read this year, but I do know more about the creator of Middle Earth and I’m glad I read it.

I give it perhaps 3.5 stars. Not a waste of time, if not a high priority recommendation. To purchase your own copy, http://www.amazon.com/J-R-R-Tolkien-Christian-Encounters-ebook/dp/B004774LSE/dsmallc

Leave a Reply

